An Adopted Korean Student at Wartburg

I met an adopted Korean student here at Wartburg about three weeks ago. His name is Joshua Kim Dockum. When I met him for the first time, I was confused by his last name. We met several times over the next two weeks.

I wanted to know how he identifies himself. He started to talk about his bio-parents, and he expressed that he is eager for a meet with his bio-parents. Then he identifies himself as an adopted Korean-American and gave me a short article that he posted on Wartburg Trumpet entitled “Life Enrichment found through Adoption Process” (October 24, 2006). He is proud of his parents and encourages people to consider adopting as follows:

My name is Joshua Kim Dockum, and I am adopted. Furthermore, I am not ashamed. I am proud of my parents, and I encourage people to consider adopting.

U.S. citizens adopted 265,677 children between 1971 and 2001 from other countries, according to the Adoption Institute.

United States citizens tend to adopt more children from foreign countries following wars, periods of extreme poverty and social upheaval.

Sixty-four percent of internationally adopted children are girls, and 36 percent are boys. Most are girls from China. The Chinese government actually restricts births. Parents who have more than one child are encouraged to place girls for adoption.

Experts say that almost 90 percent of internationally adopted children are younger than 5. In 2001, nearly 75 percent of all children came from five countries; China, South Korea, Russia, Guatemala and Ukraine.

Leave a Reply

